Home > Random > My life in random

My life in random


 

blogging

blogging

I’ve been staring at my laptop screen for 10 minutes now thinking of what would be the best way to start this blog.  I have so many things to share but I’m trying to figure out how to go about it.  Then again I’m already writing! Halleluiah!

I guess the best way to start this blog is to introduce myself first so that you would have an idea who the hell I am.  I’m Ayan but to some I’m Dante, Dan, or Dan-Dan (let’s just stick with Ayan though).  I grew up in a quiet little town up north, away from the big and busy city (thank GOD!).  Growing up, I got used to being called Dan or Dan-Dan (and just by my nickname you already know I’m very much Filipino) by my close friends and relatives.  I wasn’t really fond of my name (my full name by the way is Dante Baron Deato) to be honest (Hope my mom isn’t reading this) because when I was younger I always get associated with “Dante Varona”.  By the time I reached High school I was cool with it.  At a young age I know I have to make the most of what I have and eventually start earning as soon as possible.  I got into odd jobs and eventually I got into modeling and event hosting.  I used to have a talent agent before who gave me the nickname Ayan and I guess I liked it so I stuck with it.

I used to have blog which I started in 2003.  Back then blogging was like a fad when everyone was just starting to explore the idea of having one.  I on the other hand viewed blogging as a way for me to express myself and hopefully reach out to people who also share the same interests.  There was a time that I really was so excited to write about my personal experiences that I would blog once a day.  Unfortunately as I got busy with work and personal stuff I had little to no time to go online and post blogs on my site.  I decided to totally stop blogging and concentrate on my career as an international host onboard a luxury ship traveling the straits of Malacca.  Eventually I found myself working in the Social Media and Marketing industry which gave me a renewed passion for blogging.  Just to make it clear to everyone, I’m not a professional writer nor am I going to pretend to be one so pardon the occasional grammatical and typographical errors.

So why did I decide to go back and start blogging again?  Aside from me embracing the Social Media bandwagon, I recently had an epiphany that connecting to people is something that I want to do.  I also had a chance to attend a Blog Writing workshop, organized by my friend Jude Cartalaba, which further restored my interest in blogging.  It reminded me of how good it felt like to receive comments from total strangers and be able to just be out there and engage with people and readers of my Random Mind.  I also want to broaden my reach to the world and hopefully make a difference in my own little way.  In my next posts I will be talking about the workshop but for now I am happy to be back.

( >A< )

Categories: Random
  1. March 21, 2011 at 3:10 am

    It was great to hear that you have revived your blog and found the workshop helpful on your end.

    Your entry is quite lengthy and it gave me the opportunity to get to know you more. I am glad to have found you as a new friend not just here online, but also in the real-world.

    See you around Ayan.🙂

    • March 21, 2011 at 3:14 am

      Wow! My first comment in WordPress! If there’s one thing I appreciate about your workshop it would be the fact that I got interested to write again. I will definitely support you in your future events / workshops.

      • March 21, 2011 at 6:19 am

        Thanks, Ayan.

        There’ll be more and it will definitely be more interesting and beneficial for aspiring, beginning writers or even the professionals who would want to get into the groove of writing, again and break into blogging sphere as well.🙂

      • March 21, 2011 at 6:48 am

        I’ll definitely look forward to that sir

  2. Jopalu
    March 21, 2011 at 7:33 am

    I’m happy that you are able to blog! I haven’t tried blogging though maybe you could teach me someday🙂

    • March 21, 2011 at 7:36 am

      sure Jopalu it would be my pleasure

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

