Home > Life Blogs, Television > Loser like me

Loser like me


My high school yearbook

My high school yearbook

Have you guys watched the latest episode of Glee “Original Song”?  I’ve seen it last week and I just can’t get over “Get it Right” and “Loser Like Me“.  The first one reminded me of how to be young and in love and the later one reminded me so much of my High School years back at Colegio de San Pascual Baylon.

Gleeks performing Loser Like Me

Gleeks performing Loser Like Me

Looking back at the photos and trying to remember that part of my life,  I can say that I was a clueless and naive high school geek.  I just laugh about it now but back then it was totally a different story.  As a young adult, I wanted to get the approval of my peers and I think I tried too hard to a point that I pretend to be someone I’m not.   Things haven’t changed I guess,  there would always be the popular kids and there would be the Geeks and the less popular ones like me.  For what it’s worth, I wouldn’t want it to be any different, because it taught me the most important lesson in life which is to be yourself.

 

“Push me up against the locker
And hey all I do is shake it off
I’ll get you back when I’m your boss
I’m not thinking about you haters
Cause hey I could be a superstar
I’ll see you when you wash my car

All of the dirt you’ve been throwin’ my way
It ain’t so hard to take, that’s right
‘Cause I know one day you’ll be screamin’ my name
And I’ll just look away, that’s right

Just go ahead and hate on me and run your mouth
So everyone can hear
Hit me with the words you got and knock me down
Baby, I don’t care
Keep it up, I’m tunin’ up to fade you out
You wanna be
A loser like me”

This is my favorite part of the song coz I can really relate to the lyrics.  I think I’ve listened to this song a hundred times over and over in my head.

There is indeed life after high school… So to all the GLEEKs out there be proud and keep your head up high!

(>A<)

Ayan Deato (a self-confessed GLEEk) is now the Director for Social Media and Marketing at Visual Ally Incorporated.  He works with organizations of all sizes to help identify opportunities to complement current marketing and business development activity with social media and other online marketing activities.

Categories: Life Blogs, Television
  1. March 23, 2011 at 4:38 am

    I love the concept of your year book.

    But going back on your entry, I do agree that trying to make an impression or to blend in with the crowd, may sometimes be too disappointing. However, early on, since I was the only child and I was a loner, I get my attention with the field I excelled on back then.

    I was heavy into drawing and won a lot of contests in school, which early on–made me bored. I do not want to compete anymore. That is when I realized I want to shift into writing. I was challenged to weave words and express myself through the stuff that I write.

    I have to admit, I am no excellent writer, but I still believe that I made a *difference* in contributing for the upliftment of the lives who wish or aspire to become writers.🙂 So whether people may recognize my work as a writer or not, what matters the most for me is the fulfillment of being able to help.🙂

    • March 23, 2011 at 6:14 am

      Wow! Well at least look at where you are right now.🙂

  2. March 23, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    made me miss my high school days.. I may have been a dork at 1st but gained popularity with all the extra curricular stuffs goin on!

    Although looking back makes me realize what a loser I was compared to who I am now..

    • March 23, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      We all feel the same way… Just to show that we definitely shouldn’t stop improving ourselves as we grow older.

  3. March 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Ayan! I couldn’t help but smile after reading your post. It made me remember what it was like then back in high school. I have to confess that I hated high school. But thanks for fellow “losers”, I was able to get out of it alive. I found out that I don’t need to please everybody.

    There’s so much more to say but I would end up getting emotional. But I want you to know that in my few happy memories of high school, you are there. Thank you.😉

  4. March 23, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Abbie :

    Hi Ayan! I couldn’t help but smile after reading your post. It made me remember what it was like then back in high school. I have to confess that I hated high school. But thanks for fellow “losers”, I was able to get out of it alive. I found out that I don’t need to please everybody.

    There’s so much more to say but I would end up getting emotional. But I want you to know that in my few happy memories of high school, you are there. Thank you. ;)

    Hey fellow loser! Hehehe! I know what you mean… same birds do flock together right? Hehehe! See you again soon🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

