Home > Cheesa Laureta, Television, The Voice > Cheesa Laureta moves on

Cheesa Laureta moves on


If I were a boy

There’s another Filipina making waves in the US aside from Jessica Sanchez (American Idol) and that’s Cheesa Laureta (The Voice).  Cheesa is set to move on to the next round of the competition, a step closer to the finals.  Woo hoo!!!

Here are some more of her performances on the show

Don’t Leave me this way

All by myself

Total Eclipse of the Heart

Definitely Filipinos are starting to get noticed with the likes of Bruno Mars, Charice, Darren Criss, and Arnel Pineda, just to name a few.  To be honest I haven’t watched a single episode but because of her I plan to catch up and start watching it.  Here’s a bit of information about her from AsianJournal.com

When Filipino-American Cheesa Laureta moved six years ago from Hawaii to LA to follow her dream and be a singer, she never imagined she would make it this far—competing with the strongest vocalists from across America and making it to the final rounds of The Voice.

Belonging to Team Cee Lo Green, Cheesa initially thought she wouldn’t even make it in the first round. In that blind audition round, Cheesa sang Beyonce’s If I Were a Boy.

In a blog on the NBC The Voice website, Cheese admitted, “I totally choked in the beginning because I missed my cue. My first thought was “Cheesa you baffoon! Now the coaches aren’t going to turn for you. All you can do now is kill it!” For the remainder of the song when I realized that no one had turned around, I automatically assumed that I was done for. Then 5 seconds before singing that last note, Cee Lo turns around!!! I didn’t even realize it ‘til I was done that he had turned around for me.”

Cee Lo Green turned his chair around just before Cheesa finished the song, putting her on his “Red Zone” team.

Cheesa revealed that she really wanted to be on Green’s team and says she feels grateful and blessed to be given the opportunity to work with him, whom she views as an amazing talent.

Aside from having been blessed with a powerful voice, Cheesa also has been gifted with a lot of faith. Tattooed on her left wrist is, “II Cor 5:7” – the bible verse that says, “For we walk by faith not by sight.” She also has another tattoo of “Believe” on her left rib.

“I just prayed for the best,” she said and her prayers were answered.

To Jessica and Cheesa good luck and we’re so proud of you!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

