Home > Life Blogs, Philippines, Traffic, Travels > The public commute and the benefits of walking

The public commute and the benefits of walking


Bus Terminal at Star Mall

Bus Terminal at Star Mall

Riding the bus is such a thrill! I never thought it would be a nice adventure.  I can’t remember the last time I had to take the bus to go around the city since I got my car – Sandy (short for Sandra) a few years back.  People in Manila are nice and quiet introvert even but it all changes come rush hour.  On certain occasions you can see relatively quiet and nice people get into arguments while riding these “efficient” mode of transportation.  Women and older people having to stand along the isle of packed buses and the LRT / MRT.  I must say; there’s a real shortage of chivalry in the roads nowadays.  Although uncommon you can still see a guy offer his seat to a lady or an old person.

Yesterday morning, I had the chance to experience taking the bus on my way home from work.

I’m currently staying at Paseo Parkview Suites in Makati for a couple of weeks.  Sounds nice right?  Yes it is but the problem is parking!!!  I love Makati but I hate the fact that parking your car overnight can cost you an arm and a leg.  There’s even a parking space right across the condo that charges Php40 for the first 2 hours and Php40 again every hour after.  That’s not all… if you stay overnight or reach 12 midnight you are automatically charged Php150 additional on top of the hourly rate.  WTF!!!  Yes the parking space is nice and not that many cars park there (maybe because it’s sooooo freaking expensive!) but I only need a parking space for the night not buy the whole parking space!  Hahaha!  Another funny thing with the parking spaces in Makati, they don’t have a maximum charge like in other cities.  So don’t be surprised when they charge you Php300 or even more for overnight parking.  Call me stingy but I refuse to pay that much for parking.

Taking my car to Makati is definitely not an option for me.   I decided to just leave my car in the office since I have a free slot (thanks to Visual Ally).  After finishing some paperwork and heading to the bank for a quick transaction there I was walking along Emerald Avenue towards Julia Vargas to Megamall.  On the way I saw this blind man trying to cross the street.  I rush over and offered my help. It felt good to be able to extend help to someone in need… a benefit of walking that I don’t get when I drive.

Emerald Avenue

Emerald Avenue

 

Aside from the obvious health benefits, I just realized that walking keeps you grounded and lets you appreciate what you have.  Another thing I noticed, driving a car around the metro for a while can make you soft. Hahaha!  I had a bit of a problem getting to my seat inside the bus.  You know how crazy bus drivers can be here in Metro Manila right?  Another advantage of riding a bus or the train is that you can sleep on your way to your destination (now try doing that while you’re driving).

After an hour (usually 15-30 minutes drive),  I reached Paseo De Rojas in Makati and walked to Valero.  I really enjoyed my time walking and watching people rush to work and occasionally getting bumped and stepped on while getting on and off the bus (insert sarcasm here).  Over-all, it was a fun and such humbling experience something everyone should try once in a while🙂

walking along Paseo De Rojas

walking along Paseo De Rojas

  1. May 17, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Taking the bus is a real break from dealing with the stress of driving. It also saves gas and is a greener approach to getting around. Sometimes I walk part of the way then take a bus. There are also buses with bike racks if you prefer to get around on a bicycle then go for the rest of the ride on a bus.

  1. May 21, 2012 at 12:13 pm
  2. June 21, 2012 at 8:03 pm
  3. May 28, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

